The 4 stages of understanding Twitter (Which are you on?) – Daily Genius

Twitter is a challenging tool to really start using. That’s probably why only 26% of U.S. adults, for example, use the service. Many people view a single tweet as gibberish about nothing relevant. But there comes a time when you actually ‘get’ Twitter and understand what all the fuss is about. The gibberish turns into …

Source: dailygenius.com

One of my challenges this summer is to engage my teachers using Social Media. Keep in mind…my task was to bring the two campuses into the 21st Century, but the mindset was stuck in the 19th. Getting people onto email was my year 1 challenge, imagine the fight I have to using twitter, Google+ and others. However, easing the initial fears of new technology has been my mission and I must say, I’m ahead in my 3 year plan. However, the Social Media block is still there and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s due to a lack of understanding that drives the fear to explore. However, In every Montessori and IB classroom, the teachers are always equipping students with the notion that they can do anything if they simply face their fears head on. Well, I think it’s time that educators follow their own advice. 

Leave a Reply

